The only houmous and oatcake combo you’ll ever need

So my nutritionist advised me that a good low sugar, low GI snack to tackle morning munchies could be a couple of oatcakes with some houmous.

My initial response to the first tasting of this new snack was much like when one tries Ryvita for the first time. Disappointment and a faint cardboardy taste lingering on your tongue. Not particularly inspiring.

This was partly due to the fact I was still highly addicted to sugar and my mouth wasn’t happy about shoving something so savoury in it. And partly that I made a poor choice of oatcake.

Once I’d shook my addiction, I realised there must be a better way. I spent some time experimenting with oatcakes and strains of houmous to find the perfect match. And I think I’ve found it.

THE WORLD’S GREATEST OATCAKE AND HOUMOUS COMBO

019487fae74e20665017c073f83745036c83fbb972

Asda Caramelised Onion Houmous with Marks & Spencer Seeded Oatcakes with pumpkin, sunflower and linseed

Firstly, caramelised onion houmous. Initially after I quit sugar I avoided this particularly yummy looking product, scared off by the words ‘caramelised’ and the very obvious picture of sugar on the packet.

However, it’s worth taking a closer look. Check out the traffic light system. Sugar is in the green.

019487fae74e20665017c073f83745036c83fbb972

That’s right. Only 1.1g of sugar per 1/4 pot, which is a fairly large chunk of houmous. Obviously the ideal is no sugar, but this is such a minuscule amount for what is, trust me, a very very delicious dip, I personally think it is well worth it and much nicer than other flavoured houmous, particularly for the sugar addict.

Secondly the oat cake. From that first taste of bland oatcake, to this.

01205ef029ddf2863b1fb4129fdc1fb69939e8946d

Marks & Spencer’s seeded oatcakes. Oh wow. In my oatcake journey I’ve not yet come across anything as thick or as biscuit-like as these oatcakes. Absolutely delicious. I highly recommend and think these oatcakes are the perfect low GI food to dunk into ones houmous. I’ve even taken to eating them just as they are, with the faint memory of a digestive biscuit in my mind with each bite.

Is it snack time yet?

Leave a comment